# The School Board of Broward County, Florida **AUDIT COMMITTEE**

#### MINUTES OF AUDIT COMMITTEE NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEETING

October 10, 2019

Mr. Joris Jabouin, Chief Auditor, called the Audit Committee Nominating Committee meeting to Order at 11:25 A.M. at the Kathleen C. Wright Building in the 1<sup>st</sup> Floor Board Room. Members and Staff were introduced.

### Nominating Committee Members Present:

Mr. Andrew Medvin, CPA, Chair

Ms. Rebecca Dahl

Ms. Phyllis Shaw

#### Audit Committee Members Present:

Mr. Moses Barnes

Mr. Anthony De Meo, CPA

Ms. Hagen Disch

Ms. Stacy Kotzen, Esq.

Dr. Nathalie Lynch-Walsh

Mr. Robert Mayersohn

#### **Staff Present:**

Mr. Joris Jabouin, Chief Auditor, Office of the Chief Auditor (OCA)

Ms. Judith Marte, Chief Financial Officer, Office of the Chief Financial Officer

Mr. Daniel Gohl, Chief Academic Officer, Office of the Chief Academic Officer

Mr. Robert Vignola, Deputy General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel

Ms. Ali Arcese, Manager, Property and Inventory Audits, OCA

Ms. Ann Conway, Manager, Internal Funds Audits, OCA

Mr. Gerardo Usallan, Manager, Facility Audits, OCA

Mr. Eric Seifer, Auditor III, OCA

Ms. Michele Marquardt, Confidential Department Secretary, OCA

Ms. Megan Gonzalez, Confidential Clerk Specialist B, OCA

# Nomination of the Audit Committee Chair and Vice Chair

Mr. Jabouin began the meeting and reviewed the Audit Committee By-Laws. It was discussed that According to Article 4, Section 5 of the Audit Committee's By-Laws, the Nominating Committee will present a slate of candidates for the officer positions, which are the Chair and Vice Chair, at the Audit Committee Meeting. According to Article 3, Section 3 of the Audit Committee's By-Laws, the Audit

Committee shall annually elect a Chair and Vice Chair. Neither of those offices may be held by a member for more than two consecutive years. After serving as Chair for two years, a member may not serve as an officer of the Audit Committee for a period of at least two years. All members may be reappointed indefinitely.

Policy 1.7, paragraph 7 states that advisory committees shall annually elect a Chair and Vice Chair. Neither of those offices may be held by an advisory committee appointee or member for more than two consecutive years. After serving as Chair for two years, an advisory committee appointee or member may not serve as an officer of that advisory committee for a period of at least two years.

The current Chair, Mr. Moses Barnes, and Vice Chair, Mr. Robert Mayersohn, were elected on February 1, 2018. The previous election was held on June 18, 2015. At that time, Ms. Mary Fertig was elected Chair, and Dr. Henry Mack was elected Vice Chair. Subsequent to that, on November of 2017, Ms. Fertig resigned as Chair, and Dr. Mack was appointed temporary Chair. At this time, the two-year restriction would only apply to Ms. Fertig, and all other member can be considered for Chair and Vice Chair.

Mr. Medvin suggested that Mr. Barnes be nominated for Chair, and Mr. Mayersohn be nominated for Vice Chair. Ms. Dahl and Ms. Shaw concurred. Those nominees will be presented at the Nominating Committee Report that Mr. Medvin will present at the Audit Committee Meeting.

Mr. Jabouin consulted with Mr. Vignola, and it was determined that would conclude the business for the Nominating Committee Meeting, and it would be appropriate to adjourn the meeting and to proceed at the noted hour for the Audit Committee Meeting.

## Adjournment

**Formal Motion** to adjourn made by Mr. Medvin and seconded by Ms. Dahl. The motion passed unanimously.

Meeting Adjourned: 11:49 A.M.